AOGS Home PageMARS LoginADGEO LoginAMOS Login

Untitled Document

Untitled Page

Welcome, Opening, Axford Lectures & General Assembly
Mon-24 June 14:00 – 18:00 at Plaza Auditorium

Welcome, Opening & Axford Lectures
From 13:45 Please be seated – Members, Guests & Friends of AOGS
From 14:00 "Welcome to Country"
Eddie Ruska, Traditional Custodian of the Brisbane Region

LAC Welcome
Local Advisory Committee Chair, Iver CAIRNS
From 14:10 Ministerial Welcome
The Honourable Jann Stuckey, MP
Minister for Tourism, Major Events, Small Business and the Commonwealth Games
From 14:15 Opening & Addresses
AOGS President, Kenji SATAKE
Queensland Chief Scientist, Geoff GARRETT, AO
Council Member, Australian Academy of Science, Mark VON ITZSTEIN, FAA
From 14:45 Axford Lecture I
"Recent Operational and Scientific Achievements of D/V Chikyu" by Asahiko TAIRA,
Japan Agency of Marine-Earth Science and Technology (JAMSTEC)

Coffee/Tea Break from 15:30 to 16:00 at Plaza Ballroom
From 16:00 Axford Lecture II
"Climate Variability and Change" by Tom BEER,
Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization (CSIRO)
AOGS General Assembly & Axford Medal Award Presentation
From 16:45 Treasurer's Report
Secretary General's Report
Presentation of 2012-2013 Axford Medal
Acceptance Speech by Prof Yuntai CHEN, Axford Medalist
Introduction of General Election Candidates
From 18:00 Adjourn to Welcome Reception (Plaza Ballroom)


Tourism and Events Queensland