Untitled Document
Untitled Document

Call for Nominations for the
2010 Sunanda and Santimay Basu Award

The Space Physics and Aeronomy (SPA) Section of the American Geophysical Union (AGU) is seeking nominations for the 2010 Sunanda and Santimay Basu Award. This award is presented annually to honor an individual young scientist from a developing nation for making outstanding contributions to research in Sun-Earth Systems Science that further the understanding of both plasma physical processes and their applications for the benefit of society. The award is open to scientists who received their Ph.D. degree after June 1, 2003 and currently live and work in developing nations. Consideration is to be given to candidates who have overcome obstacles in attaining their research objectives.

The Space Physics and Aeronomy Section will invite the recipient to present a paper at AGU's Fall Meeting in San Francisco, California.  Travel funds and living expenses will be provided to attend the meeting, where the recipient will also receive a certificate of appreciation and three years' membership to AGU. The award will be presented at the SPA dinner, for which the awardee will receive a complimentary ticket. The awardee will also be announced in Eos.

Nominations should be prepared by an AGU member or other geoscientist who is knowledgeable of the candidate's qualifications and include the following information:

  • Nominator's name and title, address and contact numbers;
  • Nominee's name and title, institutional affiliation, and address;
  • A statement (not to exceed 2 pages) of the action(s) or achievement(s) for which the candidate is nominated;
  • Two letters of support from AGU members or from other recognized geoscientists belonging to institutions other than that of the nominee;
  • A curriculum vitae (not to exceed 3 pages).

A list of previous recipients of the award can be found at:

The deadline for receipt of the nomination package is 1 June 2010.

Send nominations to:
American Geophysical Union
Attn: Leadership
2000 Florida Avenue, NW
Washington DC 20009 USA
Tel: +1-202-777-7502
E-mail: leadership@agu.org

You can also contact the Chair of the Sunanda and Santimay Basu Award Committee with questions: Professor Jonathan Makela (jmakela@illinois.edu)