General Election

Election at the General Meeting in 2015

Date of Announcement: 06 August 2014
Nomination Deadline: 31 October 2014 (Extended to 14 November 2014)

The Committee will shortly start the process of producing the slate of candidates from those nominated. If you are interested in nominating candidates please email the respective Section Representatives or to Kenji Satake Chair of the AOGS Nomination Committee by 31 October 2014 together with a 1-page CV and 1-page nomination letter for each nominee to

The AOGS President, Secretary-General, Treasurer, and Section Presidents for the term of 2016-2018 will be elected at the 12th General Meeting on 02 – 07 August, 2015 in Singapore. Those elected will serve in the 2016-2018 term as Vice President, Assistant Secretary General, Assistant Treasurer and Section Vice Presidents.

For the election of Council members at the Annual General Meeting, the Council may appoint a Nomination Committee (see P. 6 - AOGS constitution here). The members of this committee are:

Past AOGS President

Section Representatives

Kenji Satake, Chair
(2012 - 2014)

Atsuhiro Nishida, Co-Chair
(2006 – 2008)
AS - Atmospheric
Seon-Ki Park

BG - Biogeosciences
Minhan Dai

HS - Hydrological
Gwo-Fong Lin

IG - Interdisciplinary
James Terry
OS - Ocean
Toshiyuki Hibiya

PS - Planetary
Tatsuaki Okada

ST - Solar & Terrestrial
Takehiko Satoh

SE - Solid Earth
Khin Zaw

The tasks of the Nomination Committee are as follows:
a) Prepare a slate of candidates for the Council members, i.e., President-Elect, Secretary General-Elect, Treasurer-Elect and Section Presidents-Elect. Ideally, two to three candidates are required for each of these positions. The candidates for Section Presidents-Elect will be identified in consultation with the individual Sections

b) Ascertain the willingness of all candidates to stand for election; and

c) Present the proposed slates to the Council for approval. In selecting nominees, care should be given to assure that there is representation of the Society’s diverse regional and disciplinary interests and that the Council reflect, over time, a reasonable balance of these interests.

d) Election will be by ballot. In the event of a tie, the Chair of the Nomination Committee shall have a casting vote. Ballots marked for candidates for Section President-Elect in more than one Section will be declared null and void as far as Section elections are concerned. Space for write-in candidates will also be provided.