Election at the General Meeting in 2023

The Committee will shortly start the process of producing the slate of candidates from those nominated. If you are interested in nominating candidates please submit your nomination in MARS.

How to Nominate?

Nomination Package should be submitted when complete via MARS. The full nomination package includes: 1-page CV and 1-page nomination letter for each nominee.

Deadlines

2023 General Election Nomination: Opens 04 Oct 2022; Closes 09 Jan 2023

Please submit your nominations by 09 Jan 2023 in MARS: https://meetmatt-svr.net/Account/Login

E-Voting & Results

E-voting opens 2pm on Tue-01 Aug 2023. Closes 2pm on Fri-04 Aug 2023 General election results – Fri-04 Aug 2023

1. Election of Office Bearers for the Term 2024 to 2026

The AOGS President, Secretary-General, Treasurer, and Section Presidents for the term of 2024-2026 will be elected at the 20th General Meeting on 30 July to 04 August, 2023 in Singapore. Those elected will serve in the 2024-2025 term as Vice President, Assistant Secretary General, Assistant Treasurer and Section Vice Presidents.

2. The Appointment of a Nomination Committee

For the election of Council members at the Annual General Meeting, the Council may appoint a Nomination Committee (see P. 6 - AOGS constitution here). The members of this committee are:

Chair

AOGS Vice-President David HIGGITT, Beijing Jiaotong University

(Lancaster University College) d.higgitt@lancaster.ac.uk

Members/Section Representatives

AOGS Secretary General: Robin ROBERTSON, Xiamen University Malaysia

robin.robertson@xmu.edu.my

AS Section Vice-President: Jong Bae AHN, Pusan National University

jbahn@pusan.ac.kr

BG Section Vice-President: Punyasloke BHADURY, Indian Institute of Science

Education and Research Kolkata

pbhadury@iiserkol.ac.in

HS Section Vice-President: Ji CHEN, The University of Hong Kong

jichen@hku.hk

IG Section Vice-President: Vena Pearl BONGOLAN, University of Philippines Diliman

bongolan@dcs.upd.edu.ph

OS Section Vice-President: Changming (Charles) DONG, Nanjing University of

Information Science & Technology

cdong@atmos.ucla.edu

PS Section Vice-President Shuanggen JIN, Nanjing Shuanggen JIN, Nanjing

University of Information Science & Technology

sgjin@shao.ac.cn

ST Section Vice-President Jann-Yenq LIU, National Central University

jyliu@jupiter.ss.ncu.edu.tw

SE Section Vice-President J. Bruce H. SHYU, National Taiwan University

jbhs@ntu.edu.tw

3. The Tasks of the Nomination Committee are as follows:

- 3.1 Contact nominees to request their declared acceptance of AOGS Terms of Reference for Council Members
- 3.2 Prepare a slate of candidates for the Council members, i.e., President-Elect, Secretary General-Elect, Treasurer-Elect and Section Presidents-Elect. Ideally, two to three candidates are required for each of these positions. The candidates for Section Presidents-Elect will be identified in consultation with the individual Sections
- 3.3 Ascertain the willingness of all candidates to stand for election; and
- 3.4 Present the proposed slates to the Council for approval. In selecting nominees, care should be given to assure that there is representation of the Society's diverse regional and disciplinary interests and that the Council reflect, over time, a reasonable balance of these interests.
- 3.5 Election will be by ballot. In the event of a tie, the Chair of the Nomination Committee shall have a casting vote. Ballots marked for candidates for Section President-Elect in more than one Section will be declared null and void as far as Section elections are concerned. Space for write-in candidates will also be provided.

4. E-Voting Instructions

E-voting (in lieu of paper ballots) will take place during the society's annual meeting. Only members attending AOGS2023 are eligible and all e-votes are recorded in MARS (the society's online system). Please follow the steps below to cast your e-vote:

- 4.1 You are automatically eligible to e-vote after collecting your name badge
- 4.2 You can use your current User ID and Password (for the MARS system)
 - Launch internet browser by typing the MARS URL
 - b. Upon successful log-in, click on "E-Voting" on the left menu
- 4.3 On the voting page, voting has to be done for each specific office. If you do not desire to cast your vote for a specific office, it will be treated as abstained.
- 4.4 Once you have cast your vote, click "Submit"
- 4.5 A confirmation box will be displayed and you can choose to confirm (click "OK") or modify (click "CANCEL") your vote. Votes cannot be modified after confirmation.
- 4.6 The e-voting module shall be disabled at the announced e-voting closing time.