Nominations for New Society Officials and Section Officials

AOGS will elect new Society Officials and Section Officials during the General Assembly to be held on July 31, 2007 in Bangkok. The positions open include President, Secretary General, and Treasurer of the Society. For the Section Officials, the positions to be filled are Section Presidents of the Atmospheric Science (AS), Hydrological Science (HS), Ocean Science (OS), Planetary Science (PS), Solid Earth (SE), and Solar-Terrestrial Science (ST). These officials will provide leadership in the organization and management of AOGS and the annual meetings. These positions are for two-year term which starts at the end of the AOGS 2008 annual meeting and ends at the end of the AOGS 2010 annual meeting. According to the AOGS Constitution, the elected officials will serve one year as Vice Presidents (as Presidents-designated) prior to the Presidency and one year as Vice Presidents (as Past Presidents) after the Presidency. Nominations of candidates of outstanding research records and proven leadership in scientific affairs are cordially invited from the AOGS membership. Please send names, affiliations, e-mail addresses and phone numbers of the nominees plus short descriptions of the qualifications of the candidates to: Professor Wing-Huen Ip, Chair AOGS Nomination Committee, at wingip@astro.ncu.edu.tw. The submission deadline is April 30, 2007. The final list of candidates approved by the AOGS Council will be announced on the AOGS website on July 15. The election will be held at the General Assembly on July 31, 2007.